Another Thing Crossed Off The Bucket List

Some of you out there may have been wondering what I have been up to over the last couple of months (someone? anyone??!). I know I had promised a few blog entries in order to catch up with what is going on but to be honest I have just been way too busy. With what I hear you ask? Well, let’s see…. Rescue Diver, Divemaster and now Instructor courses, the boyfriend coming over to Indonesia to join me and now living/working as resort managers in Lombok…. you know, those kind of things!

To back up a little – my last post was about my diving adventures in Sipadan. Once I finished there (several months ago now) I flew to Indonesia and landed on the little island of Gili Trawangan, Lombok. The next day I started the Rescue Diver course with Trawangan Dive. The next few days were definitely one of the best diving experiences I have had. The course was tough, a little stressful at times but great fun, and I certainly came out the other side as a much better, more aware and prepared diver. Then it was straight onto the Divemaster course. Originally I had planned to take about 5 weeks to complete the course but I quickly decided that the longer the better for this one – not having to rush through the course meant I could get a lot more experience diving, assisting instructors on different courses, guiding dives and learning about how things work in the diving world. In the end I dragged my DM course out for just over two months and am very happy that I did so.

It was only about 2 weeks into the DM course that I heard about an opportunity to manage a small resort in Lombok, right next to Gili Trawangan. My boyfriend turned out to be the perfect candidate for the role so he flew out to join me and is now manager of the most beautiful little place, the Rinjani Beach Eco Resort (Like us on Facebook!). We have a small dive outfit here but until I get the compressor fixed there is no diving for us at the moment. But, aside from that, we get to live in paradise, right on the beach, and I get to travel to Gili T everyday and do what I love the most, which is dive, dive and dive!

I was also lucky enough to be offered work as a divemaster and so the day after my DM course was finished, I started freelancing at Aquaddiction, a small dive centre on Gili T. Guiding people around the beautiful dive sites of the Gili Islands is amazing, and the team at Aquaddiction are great – very friendly, welcoming and very helpful, I couldn’t ask for more. They have also been brilliant for my customers – we have many people staying with us at Rinjani Beach who want to go diving, and now I have somewhere to take them!

So as much as I loved being a divemaster, my plan upon leaving Vietnam all those months ago was to become a dive instructor, and now I am happy to say that is exactly what I have done. Trawangan Dive Centre also happens to be PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Dive Resort, with the BEST Course Director around, Holly Macleod. Over the last couple of weeks she has guided myself and the other 7 candidates through the IDC (Instructor Development Course), which culminated in the two day exams which were held on Gili Air. The whole process was very intense, with lots of study (ergh, Physics!), lesson planning and presentations. We worked hard and am proud to say we all passed with flying colors – I even scored a present from the examiner because he loved my presentations! It was an amazing feeling to be handed that certificate to show that I had a passed and am now an Open Water Scuba Instructor! Mission accomplished and it feels awesome, so I hope you can now understand the lack of blog posts recently – I’ve had bucket list stuff to do!!

Go Pro

One thought on “Another Thing Crossed Off The Bucket List

  1. Amanda, congrats on all the great accomplishments! Lombok is high on my list to visit. We’re heading to Australia in October, and I hope to get certified before we visit the Reef (but I am not exactly great in the water, unlike you). Glad to hear you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

